search 2013 adfgs

Board Officers

Chairman: Francois Nader, M.D.

NPS Pharmaceuticals, Inc., President and Chief Executive Officer

Francois Nader, MD, has been President, Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors of NPS Pharmaceuticals since 2008. During his tenure, Dr. Nader transformed NPS into a leading global biotechnology company focused on pioneering and delivering innovative therapies that transform the lives of patients with rare diseases worldwide. NPS’ lead product, Gattex® (US)/Revestive® (EU) for adult Short Bowel Syndrome, was approved in the US and Europe in 2012. NPS has also developed Natpara® for hypoparathyroidism and submitted its Biologic License Application to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration in October 2013.  Recognizing his role in transforming NPS into a successful life sciences company, Dr. Nader was the recipient of the 2013 Ernst & Young National Entrepreneur Of The Year® Award in the Life Sciences category.  This award is regarded as the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs.

Read more »

Immediate Past Chair: Sol J. Barer, Ph.D.

Celgene Corporation, Former Chairman

Dr. Barer is the Former Chairman and CEO of Celgene.  He was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer from May 1, 2006 until June 16, 2010 and Executive Chairman subsequently until January 1, 2011 when he transitioned to his current position. Previously he was appointed President in 1993 and Chief Operating Officer in 1994 before assuming the CEO position. He also served as Senior Vice President, Science and Technology, and Vice President/ General Manager, Chiral Products, from October 1990 to October 1993, and Vice President, Technology, from September 1987 to October 1990.

Read more »

President and CEO: Debbie Hart, CAE, APR

BioNJ, President and CEO

Debbie Hart, President and CEO of BioNJ, worked alongside New Jersey’s biotechnology industry leaders to establish BioNJ in 1994.  BioNJ seeks to promote a business and public policy environment in New Jersey, Washington,D.C. and beyond that advances the growth and prosperity of New Jersey’s biotechnology companies.

Read more »

Vice Chairman: Christopher J. Schaber, Ph.D.

Soligenix, Inc., President and Chief Executive Officer

Christopher J. Schaber, PhD has over 25 years experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry. Dr. Schaber has been Soligenix’s President and Chief Executive Officer and a director since August 2006.

Read more »

Secretary: Donna Tempel, Ph.D., M.B.A.

Drais Pharmaceuticals Inc., President and Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Tempel is President, Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Drais Pharmaceuticals Inc.  Drais is a venture-capital supported clinical drug development company, based in Bridgewater, New Jersey.

Read more »

Treasurer: Elizabeth Posillico, Ph.D.

Elusys Therapeutics, Inc., President and Chief Executive Officer

Elizabeth has 25 years of experience in the biopharmaceutical industry and has held senior positions in general management, business development, marketing and operations. She joined Elusys in 2002 as Vice President of Business Development and since then was promoted to Sr. Vice President of Operations and then President and CEO in January, 2005.

Read more »